October Anniversaries

Last week, my husband and I celebrated our 21st wedding anniversary. Wow. It seems like such a huge accomplishment on the one hand. On the other, the older we get the more time seems to just fly by. So really, making our marriage work this long has not been more difficult than just remembering to breathe, choosing the battles that we should fight, and doing kind stuff for each other along the way. Not really. Sometimes it’s hard. Really hard.
But more often than not, it isn’t.

It’s not an effortless relationship. I mean, if I end up at Home Depot one more time on “date day,” I may end up screaming and ripping my own hair out. And while I don’t find the smell of freshly cut plywood or new power tools a turn-on, I’m fairly certain that he doesn’t like waiting around until 8:00 pm to eat dinner because I can’t make the physics on our oven work any faster on half-frozen chicken that I forgot to take out of the freezer a few hours earlier. He’s a neat freak. I’m a sloppy person who files things horizontally.

So last Wednesday, our daughter decided she wanted THE most obscure Sesame Street character plush toy. I believe her exact words were, “IT’S AN EMERGENCY!” I went to two different toy stores in the mall in search of Zoe. No joy. So I decided to go to Walmart. As I went through the home furnishings section, I noticed that they had the Kitchen Aid mixers on sale for $189! So I snapped a photo with my phone and texted it over to my husband because he has been wanting one of these for almost as long as I have. (He’s a pastry chef.)  I found no Zoe in the toy section and then went home and ordered the Zoe online from the Children’s Television Workshop.

That night my husband placed a box on the counter in the kitchen when he got home from work. It was the Mother of All Gifts for Those Who Bake. It was the Kitchen Aid Mixer. He kissed me on the cheek and said, “Happy anniversary. You texted me the picture so I assumed you wanted it.” I told him, “Uhm, YEAH….but totally not why I sent it to you. I figured we’d just talk about buying it and then end up buying new brakes for the van instead.”

A week later was my 18th celebration of my 29th birthday. My friends, Roslyn and Marcella, gave me gift cards. I love them both. So I let my husband spend about half of the card for Bed, Bath & Beyond. He had so much fun. He made a beeline for the wall clocks and chose one with coffee beans in it. (I tease him a lot about wanting a wall clock in every room of the house. He makes fun of me for buying area rugs every chance I get.)

I am so fortunate to have been blessed with my husband. He loves me to the moon and back and I adore him. I get him. He gets me. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

About ~SPRH

Laughter is my beauty cream and I bask in it daily. Looking for the good in others is not just a hobby, but a way of life. Embracing my crazy is how I medicate and it's addictive. Try some? Also, I apparently talk in "bumper sticker" sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October Anniversaries

Leave a Reply

