Choosing the Happy

Daily we see those bumper stickers and motivational posters that encourage you to “Choose the Happy” and we usually roll our eyes and think, “Pfffft….yeah, right.” But the more I think about it, the more I realize that ultimately happiness truly is a choice. Whatever your situation, health, schedule, pain level, payscale, you-name-it:  You can CHOOSE to be happy.

Every morning before I put my daughter on the school bus, I remind her to “make good choices.” I’m sure that she just hears this the same as she hears “have a good day” and “don’t forget your backpack.” But today I told her to “choose the happy, Randa,” and she smiled at me and replied, “Yes, choose happy.” The message must have clicked because it’s already 11:30 a.m. and I haven’t received a phone call from the Alternate Curriculum staff at her high school informing me of any Autistic Meltdowns. Yay, me. Yay, her.

Anyway, I’m continuing to choose the happy. Because if I wait for happiness to choose me, I’m gonna be collecting my social security checks by the time it arrives and….well, maybe not. I may not be happy with the size of that check or whether or not there’s any social security left for people in my age bracket…but I can still choose to be happy. No matter what, it’s always a choice.

About ~SPRH

Laughter is my beauty cream and I bask in it daily. Looking for the good in others is not just a hobby, but a way of life. Embracing my crazy is how I medicate and it's addictive. Try some? Also, I apparently talk in "bumper sticker" sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

